My Media

Homework Assignment: The homework assigned for the My Media class on April 24th was to have watched a local newscast by May 1st. Then we had to find a written article of the casting and compare the two.

 

Occupy May Day protest could block roads, shut down ferry service

(msnbc.com)

My article, “Occupy May Day protest could block roads, shut down ferry service”, is about Tuesday May 1st. May Day is the day to mark the rights of workers around the world or, as some people like to call it, “a day without the 99%” Either way, it celebrates the rights of working men and women. Occupy Wall Street, an organization that was established on September 17, 2011, is an organization that fights against the corrosive power of major economic corporations, like large banks. This group is trying to recapture the meaning and importance of May Day by holding a nationwide general strike on Tuesday, May 1. The strike is supposed to get people to do things differently in general. May Day is like Labor Day which means many people will sacrifice their work, suffer and endure struggles during the protest and strikes. But in the end, they’re not just doing it for themselves; they’re doing it for others too.

 

The TV newscast of this story was extremely interesting to me. Watching the person who was talking and seeing their body movements really made me listen more intently and work hard on grasping the full idea of what they were saying while they talked about there opinions on May 1st, and what they expected to see on Tuesday. One thing I really loved about the newscast was that it showed a chart and then someone related that chart to a real life situation. The name of the line graph was, “Strikes Involving 1000+ Workers”, and you could see that around the year of 1957, it was roughly 480 and by 2007, it decreased way below 100. This meant that strikes were barley happening anymore, which is not good if you’re trying to get a worldwide point across. Bill Fletcher Jr., a man apart of the Center for Labor Renewal, explained that the number of strikes involving 1000+ workers decreased so dramatically due to PATCO. PATCO was the firing of air traffic controls that went on a strike in 1981, by Ronald Regan. He said that what the Regan Administration did suppressed people from taking a stand and going on a strike.

 

“A general strike has one of two objectives. Either it’s a symbolic demonstration of force or you really are aiming to bring someone down. So if it’s one day, it’s a symbolic show and that’s very, very important. I think it shows resistance.” Bill Fletcher said this about the strikes and for me, seeing it made me really stop and listen to what he was saying. His facial expression was so intense and concerned.  I could tell he deeply cared about what he was saying.

 

The written article of my news story was extremely different from seeing it on TV. The paper talked about what roads will be blocked and the groups that wereAnti-Wall Street. It didn’t even give an explanation of what May Day was supposed to be about, or give quotes of people’s thoughts on the purpose for the strikes and protests. The explanation of many things it said was very light and I kind of had to guess what they were supposed to mean but the TV casting let me get the view of five different people and each one of them said what they wanted to say in a comprehensible manner.

 

Overall, the TV viewing was exciting and I felt like it involved me more. I could agree or disagree with what the people were saying and see their reactions to their peer’s views on the situation. However, the written article felt more like a pile of information was dumped in front of me with no real relevance or meaning and I had no interest. It was just another article on the internet.

 

This article is relevant to its readers because people all over the world are under economic pressure. It brings the importance of the situation to surface and possibly enables people to think about making a change towards justice. This story relates to my family and me because we’ve been affected by hard economic times too, and every time some one stands up, like how people do on May Day, I appreciate it because they’re standing up for people like my family and me.

 

I think that this article would hold the interest of readers and watchers because it includes every one of all races, ages and cultures. It talks about a problem that most people have in common, and possibly has suffered from it one way or another. But then it goes on to say how, we the people, have begun to solve it. 

 

 

 

